Monday March 25 11:52 pm

Spotlighting events along the south shore of Lake Michigan


World premiere of Remember the Alamo recreates the Battle of the Alamo with live audience & Neo-Futurist flair Feb 28-April 27


Continuing their 30th Anniversary Season, The Neo-Futurists present the world premiere mainstage production Remember the Alamo from February 28 to April 27, 2019 (opening March 4) at The Neo-Futurist Theater. In this new show created by Neo-Futurist Ensemble Member Nick Hart and directed by Artistic Director Kurt Chiang, an ensemble takes over The Neo-Futurist Theater, refuses to leave and obstructs all production in the theater until the audience and actors work to recreate the Battle of the Alamo in its entirety—through the inevitable "death" of the audience. Hart assumes the role of William B. Travis, chief commander of the Texas army at the Alamo, with the audience as his faithful and willing soldiers during the siege. Remember the Alamo expands on the grand American traditional of historical reenactment with the meta-theatrical style, honest narratives and personal takes that have defined The Neo-Futurists for 30 years.

Mercury Theater Chicago Announces Production of LITTLE SHOP OF HORRORS


Walter Stearns, Executive Director of Mercury Theater Chicago, announced today that a production of Howard Ashman and Alan Menken’s musical LITTLE SHOP OF HORRORS will run on the main stage from March 1 through April 28. The press opening is Sunday, March 10 at 7pm.

MUSIC THEATER WORKS Musical Theater Summer Workshops give youth a chance to sing, dance and act this summer


Music Theater Works is now accepting enrollments for the 2019 Musical Theater Summer Workshop. Young people ages 8 to 13 will learn singing, dancing and acting in preparation for a free public performance, where family and friends are invited to watch them perform a mini-musical. No experience or audition required, and everyone gets a part.

Janet Ulrich Brooks joins Cast of Steppenwolf's THE CHILDREN


Steppenwolf Theatre Company presents the Chicago premiere of The Children written by Lucy Kirkwood and helmed by celebrated Chicago director Jonathan Berry. The cast includes previously announced ensemble members Ora Jones (Rose) and Yasen Peyankov (Robin), with acclaimed actress Janet Ulrich Brooks (Hazel) rounding out the cast. Following sold out runs in London and New York, Steppenwolf is proud to present this brave, humane and beautifully written play that confronts the responsibility each generation must face for the way it leaves the world.

Victory Gardens Theater presents the Chicago Premiere of PIPELINE by Dominique Morisseau


Victory Gardens Theater continues its 44th season with the Chicago Premiere of Pipeline, written by 2018 MacArthur Fellow Dominique Morisseau and directed by Cheryl Lynn Bruce. Pipeline runs February 1 – March 3, 2019, with press performance on Friday, February 8, 2019 at 7:30pm at Victory Gardens Theater, 2433 N. Lincoln Avenue.



Broadway In Chicago is delighted to announce that individual tickets for A BRONX TALE will go on sale to the public on Wednesday, January 9. A BRONX TALE will play Broadway In Chicago’s Nederlander Theatre (24 W. Randolph) for a limited two-week engagement March 12 –24, 2019.

Lifeline Theatre Presents The Man Who Was Thursday, February 25th - April 7th


Lifeline Theatre presents The Man Who Was Thursday, adapted by Lifeline Theatre ensemble member Bilal Dardai and directed by Jess Hutchinson. Dardai and Hutchinson return to this 1908 satire after having first mounted it at New Leaf Theatre, where Hutchinson was the Artistic Director, in 2009 (Non-Equity Jeff nomination: New Adaptation) to re-explore this absurdist tale of identity and intrigue for a new decade.

Raven Theatre Announces Casting for Chicago Premiere of YEN March 21st – May 5th


Raven Theatre is pleased to announce casting for its Chicago premiere of Anna Jordan’s drama YEN directed by Elly Green. This savage, unrelenting play about growing up, opening the windows and letting in the light will feature Jesse Aaronson, Tiffany Bedwell, Reed Lancaster and Netta Walker.