Thursday March 22 3:49 am

Spotlighting events along the south shore of Lake Michigan




Stage 773, located at 1225 W. Belmont, is thrilled to announce the appointments of Jill Valentine as Executive Director and Jack Short as Managing Director of the theater. Both with long standing careers in the theater industry and at Stage 773, Valentine and Short bring years of knowledge and experience to their new positions.

Writers Theatre presents SMART PEOPLE March 21 – June 10


Writers Theatre, under the leadership of Artistic Director Michael Halberstam and Executive Director Kathryn M. Lipuma, presents Smart People, written by Lydia R. Diamond and directed by Hallie Gordon. Smart People runs March 21 – June 10, 2018 in the Gillian Theatre at 325 Tudor Court, Glencoe. The Press Opening is Wednesday, March 28 at 7:30 p.m.

Due to Popular Demand, Dr. Ricardo Rosenkranz returns to Royal George Theatre in The Rosenkranz Mysteries: Physician Magician


Touted by the Chicago Tribune as an “immensely likable, intelligent and very intimate show,” Dr. Ricardo Rosenkranz is back by popular demand with The Rosenkranz Mysteries: Physician Magician. Performances begin Tuesday, March 27 through May 6, with a press opening on Tuesday, April 3 at the Royal George Theatre Cabaret, 1641 N Halsted Street in Chicago for a limited engagement.

First Folio Theatre Presents MARY'S WEDDING for the 100th Anniversary of the End of WWI in March


Inspired by the 100th anniversary of the end of World War I, First Folio Theatre (Mayslake Peabody Estate, 31st St. & Rt. 83) presents MARY’S WEDDING, previewing March 28-30, opening March 31, and closing April 29, 2018. Written by Stephen Massicotte, MARY’S WEDDING, a remarkable love story about survival and optimism during a tragic time in history, originally enjoyed a successful premiere at the 2002 playRites Festival at Alberta Theatre Projects. The production then went on to win the 2002 Betty Mitchell Award for Outstanding New Play and the 2003 Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama.

Remy Bumppo Announces 2018-2019 Season


Remy Bumppo Theatre Company, in its 22nd Season, will present three stories that explore the fears preventing us from reaching out, the infinite mystery of the mind, and the heartbreaking love that spans space and time.

Northlight Theatre announces 44th Season


Northlight Theatre, under the direction of Artistic Director BJ Jones and Executive Director Timothy J. Evans, announces its 44th season, opening with Curve of Departure by Rachel Bonds, directed by BJ Jones and featuring Mike Nussbaum and Sean Parris. The season continues with the World Premiere of Mansfield Park, Kate Hamill’s new adaptation of Jane Austen’s classic tale of social satire and the quest for romance, directed by Stuart Carden, and featuring Kayla Carter and Heidi Kettenring; followed by the World Premiere of The Janice, written by Sharyn Rothstein; and Christina Ham’s Nina Simone: Four Women. Closing out the season is Into The Breeches! by George Brant.

Ensemble Member Amy Morton Directs Obie-Winning GUARDS AT THE TAJ (May 31 - July 22)


Steppenwolf Theatre Company presents the Chicago premiere production of Guards at the Taj by acclaimed playwright Rajiv Joseph, directed by ensemble member Amy Morton. A stunning tale about the search for beauty in desperate circumstances, the Steppenwolf production will feature the original cast members, Omar Metwally (Humayun) and Arian Moayed (Babur), whom Amy Morton directed in the Off-Broadway world premiere which received rave reviews when it premiered in 2015 and won the 2016 Obie Award for Best New American Play.

Hell in a Handbag Productions Presents L'IMITATION OF LIFE March 31st – May 6th at Stage 773


Hell in a Handbag Productions is pleased to kick off its 2018 Season with a revival of its 2013 hit L’IMITATION OF LIFE, a dead on parody of the 1959 film Imitation of Life about race, mothers and daughters – and looking fabulous! Adapted by Ricky Graham and Running with Scissors and directed by ensemble member Stevie Love*, L’IMITATION OF LIFE will play March 31 – May 6, 2018 at Stage 773, 1225 W. Belmont Ave. in Chicago.